NEXT EVENT  Friday, April 26
Test & Tune


August 20, 2023  |  by Marc Hoegerl

Busti, NY (Aug 19, 2023) by Marc Hoegerl: The New Stateline Speedway’s 2023 season would come to a close with its year ending Championship Night. This night would crown, Greg Oakes in the Super Late Models, Jason Genco in the RUSH Crate Late Models, David Scott in the UMP Modifieds, Steve Dixon in the RUSH Pro Mods, Shane Applebee in the Pro Stocks, John Mease in the Challengers, and Ryan Card in the Sharp Mini Late Models.

Feature winners on the evening would be: Jason Genco (RUSH Crate Late Models), Dennis Lunger (UMP Modifieds), Ryan Card (Sharp Mini Late Models), Darrell Bossard (Super Late Models), Tanner Ramsey (Pro Stocks), Dennis Lunger (RUSH Pro Mods), and Mark Lawrence (Challengers).

Stateline’s final Super Late Model feature of the season could be considered Stateline’s race of the year. The event saw 6 lead changes between 4 different drivers that displayed three wide racing for the lead throughout the event. When the smoke cleared it would be Centerville’s, Darrell Bossard picking up his first Super Late Model win of the season. Bossard would grab the lead from Ryan Scott for good on lap 21, and lead the final 4 laps to record his 10th career Stateline Super Late Model feature win. Ryan Scott would have to settle for 2nd, points champion Greg Oakes was 3rd, early leader David Scott was 4th, and Bump Headman would round out your top 5.

Points Champion Jason Genco showed that he would not be denied, grabbing the lead from former UMP Modified standout Randy Hall on lap 12, to claim his 4th Stateline RUSH Crate Late Model win of the season. Genco’s win would put him only seven wins behind Stateline’s all time RUSH Crate Late Model feature winner Max Blair. Hall would ride home 2nd, July 22nd winner Matt Sipes was 3rd, Khole Wanzer in one of his best finishes of the season was 4th, and as veteran wheelman Scott Gurdak rounded out the top 5.

The UMP Modified finale would end the season in a real dog fight, between champion David Scott and regional hot shoe Dennis Lunger. Lunger would finally muscle his way around Scott on lap 9, leading the remaining 11 laps to cash in his 3rd Stateline UMP Modified win of 2023. Troy Johnson would make a last lap pass on Scott to finish 2nd. Scott, Zach Johnson, and Greg Johnson would complete the top 5.

Champion Ryan Card would have to come from the tail twice to pick up Stateline’s topless Sharp Mini Late Model main event. Wyatt Scott would bring home 2nd, Terry Mealy in one of his best runs of 23’was 3rd, Warren’s, Nate Morrison was 4th, and Dale Haines after a rocky start was 5th.

In the final Pro Stock feature of the season, it was all Ripley’s, Tanner Ramsey, leading flag to flag in the 15 lap event. Gary Fisher Jr. would secure 2nd, Brent Marotto in his best run of the year was 3rd, Douglas Eck was 4th, and John Cline would round out the events top 5.

The RUSH Pro Mods headliner would also be a real barn burner. The event saw 4 lead changes between 4 different racers. “The Albion Assassin” Dennis Lunger may not have came out on top of the season ending point standing, but showed that he was still the man to beat. Lunger would grab the lead from former RUSH Crate Late Model champ Damian Bidwell on lap 17, and cruise the remaining 3 laps to score his 45th career Stateline RUSH Pro Mod feature triumph. Bidwell would secure the bridesmaid spot, veteran Al Brewer was 3rd, 2023 champ Steve Dixon was 4th, and Brendan Warner with another fine run was 5th.

The final nightcap of 2023 would be the loaded Challenger division. Challenger standout Mark Lawrence would hold off a valiant challenge from 2023 champion John Mease, leading the entire distance, picking up his first Stateline Challenger main event of the season. Mease would have to settle for 2nd, the divisions all time winner Chris Horton was 3rd, Nicholas Reed was 4th, as Jamestown’s Dylan Greene completed the top 5.


Heat Race Winners: Jacob Tubbs, Randy Hall, David Parker, Matt Sipes

Feature:1) Jason Genco 2) Randy Hall 3) Matt Sipes 4) Khole Wanzer 5) Scott Gurdak 6) Will Pinckney 7) Ward Schell 8. Andy Michael 9) Jacob Tubbs 10) Jake Wilber 11) Steve Blodgett 12) Chad Clement 13) Jacob Peterson 14) Gary Youngs 15) DJ Krug 16) David Parker 17) Wes McCray 18. Hunter Proctor 19) Shawn Little 20) Ronald Watson 21) Kassy Norman 22) Justin Yohe 23) Rick Karash

Lap Leaders: Hall (1-11), Genco (12-20)


UMP MODIFIEDS (20 Entries)

Heat Race Winners: Dennis Lunger, Zach Johnson, David Scott

Feature:1) Dennis Lunger 2) Troy Johnson 3) David Scott 4) Zach Johnson 5) Greg Johnson 6) Dan Sasso 7) Tim Peterson 8. Matt Peterson 9) Kyle Schreckengost 10) Butch Southwell 11) Cale Crocker 12) Tim Rockwell 13) Tom Kosinski 14) Jason Brightman 15) Dennis Aisel 16) David Warner 17) Chris McDonald 18. Chris Deponceau 19) Matt Haskins 20) Dave Lanphere

Lap Leaders: D. Scott (1-8), Lunger (9-20)



Heat Race Winners: Ryan Card, Chris Whyte

Feature:1) Ryan Card 2) Wyatt Scott 3) Terry Mealy 4) Nate Morrison 5) Dale Hainse 6) Holdyn Whitmire 7) Morgan Curry 8. Oakley Terrill 9) Kyle Coons 10) Chris Whyte 11) Tim Trask 12) Rob Eaton 13) Jess Isadore

Lap Leaders: C. Whyte (1-3), W. Scott (4-7), Card (8-11), W. Scott (12-15), Card (16-20)


Heat Race Winners: Bob Dorman, Bump Headman, David Scott

Feature:1) Darrell Bossard 2) Ryan Scott 3) Greg Oakes 4) David Scott 5) Bump Headman 6) Bob Dorman 7) Michael Smith 8. Kyle Bedell 9) Kevin Smith 10) Khole Wanzer 11) Justin Carlson 12) Jason Genco 13) Wes McCray 14) Anthony Marotto 15) Dutch Davies 16) Paul Schreckengost

Lap Leaders: Headman (1), D. Scott (2-14), R. Scott (15-18, Bossard (19), R. Scott (20), Bossard (21-25)


PRO STOCKS (17 Entries)

Heat Race Winners: Willaim Reeves, Brent Marotto, Tanner Ramsey

Feature: 1) Tanner Ramsey 2) Gary Fisher Jr. 3) Brent Marotto 4) Douglas Eck 5) John Cline 6) William Reeves 7) Justin Pratt 8. Grant Richard 9) Jason Black 10) Dave Schauers 11) John Boardman 12) Kole Stelmack 13) Mikael Beaver 14) Dale Sheets 15) Andrew Hammond 16) Shane Applebee 17) Dustin Gibson

Lap Leaders: T. Ramsey (1-15)


RUSH PRO MODS (26 Entries)

Heat Race Winners: Damian Bidwell, Steve Dixon, Brendan Warner, Al Brewer

Feature: 1) Dennis Lunger 2) Damian Bidwell 3) Al Brewer 4) Steve Dixon 5) Brendan Warner 6) Vaughn Nystrom 7) John Woodward Jr. 8. Chad Ramsey 9) Tyler Oakes 10) Zain Harvey 11) Ian Degolier 12) Cody Rickard 13) John Cline 14) Cameron Sherwood 15) Thomas Root 16) Ryan Sanders 17) Clayton Tarabori 18. Chad Carlson 19) Adam Peterson 20) Will Silvis 21) Derek Austin 22) Kirk Mohawk 23) Alex Wulff 24) Brian Mohawk 25) Nick Arnold 26) Derek Peterson

Lap Leaders: Nystrom (1), Brewer (2), Bidwell (3-16), Lunger (17-20)


CHALLENGERS (24 Entries)

Heat Race Winners: Annaleesa Diabo, Rick Feeley, Chris Horton, Holden Heineman

Feature: 1) Mark Lawrence 2) John Mease 3) Chris Horton 4) Nicholas Reed 5) Dylan Greene 6) Holden Heineman 7) Ridge Cobb 8. Domingo Echevarria 9) Tommy LaBarbera 10) Dan Bittinger 11) Cassandra Goodwill 12) Billi Jo Huffman 13) Kenneth Moore Sr. 14) Marc Luce 15) Sam Baughman 16) Rick Feeley 17) Pete Volpe 18. Christian Buccola 19) Brady McIntyre 20) Jordan Richard 21) Annaleesa Diabo 22) Jessica Harvey 23) Chelsea Haskins 24) Rachel Butler 25) David Moller

Lap Leaders: Lawrence (1-12)