NEXT EVENT  Saturday, June 22
$1,500 To Win RUSH Pro Mod Special


June 9, 2024  |  by Marc Hoegerl

Busti, NY (June 8, 2024) by Marc Hoegerl: The New Stateline Speedway fan base was once again blessed with beautiful early fall like tempetures, along with another night of action packed racing in all five divisions, featuring the $1,500 to win Challenger Special.

Franklinville, NY’s Andy Schumaker would have lady luck fall right on to his lap, as race leader, and last year’s winner of the event, Brad Whiteside would be struck with a tire going down on the final lap, giving Schumaker the lead as the field headed for the white flag. Schumaker would lead the final circuit to pick up the $1,500 to win Challenger Special. The 20 lap action filled event would witness four lead changes, between three different drivers. Following Schumaker across the stripe would be Holden Heineman, Cole Susice, Pete Volpe, and Andy Proper.

Dave Hess Jr. in his first Stateline Super Late Model appearance of the season would dominate all 25 laps to pick up his first Stateline Super Late feature win of 2024. Hess’s win would be his 42nd career Super Late Model feature win at Stateline. With the win Hess sits only one shy of 100 total career wins at the Chautauqua County based speed plant. Following the Waterford, PA native across the line would be, Darrell Bossard in his best outing of the season, Jason Genco would bring home another podium finish, finishing 3rd, Ryan Scott was 4th, and opening night winner Greg Oakes would round out the top 5.

It was a night for Franklinville, NY racers, as Josh Wilcox would finally break through for his first career Stateline RUSH Pro Mod feature triumph. Wilcox would muscle his way through heavy lapped traffic to keep enough distance between himself, and last week’s winner Zain Harvey to secure the victory in the 20 lap showcase. Harvey would settle for 2nd, veteran Al Brewer would bring home 3rd, Josh Canfield in his best run of the season was 4th, as Bradford’s Nick Arnold rounded out the top 5.

Warsaw NY’s Michael McGee would show his muscle by finally breaking free from a four car battle on lap 14, and holding off a hard charging Dave Hess Jr., to pick up his first Stateline UMP Modified feature win of the season, as well as McGee’s 10th career Stateline win in the class that started back in 2002. All time Stateline UMP Modified feature winner Hess Jr., would settle for 2nd, veteran wheelman Troy Johnson was 3rd, Zach Johnson was 4th, as opening night winner Greg Johnson completed the top 5.

David Parker looked like he was going to pick up his 4th career Stateline RUSH Crate Late Model feature win, until hot shoe Jason Genco would find just enough room to slip by Parker on lap 13 to go the remaining distance to pick up back-to-back Stateline RUSH Crate Late Model feature wins. Genco’s victory now puts him only five wins away from tying the divisions all time feature winner Max Blair. Parker would secure 2nd, multi division champ Scott Gurdak was 3rd, Ward Schell in his best run of 24’ was 4th, and William Taylor bringing home his career best was 5th.

Chris Whyte after a brief dry spell lead flag to flag to pick up his first Stateline Sharp Mini Late Model feature win of the 2024 campaign. Jesse Isadore that haggard Whyte most of the event finished 2nd. Dale Haines was 3rd, previous winner Rob Eaton after having to come from the tail after bringing out an early race caution was 4th, as Trey Whyte completed the top 5.

RUSH PRO MODS (11 Entrants)

Heat Race Winners: Zain Harvey, Josh Canfield

Feature: 1) Josh Wilcox 2) Zain Harvey 3) Al Brewer 4) Josh Canfield 5) Nick Arnold 6) Ryan Sanders 7) Bill Silvis 8. Tommy Kemp 9) Cody Vanguilder 10) Devin Bliley 11) Robert Cettell

Lap Leaders: Wilcox (1-20)

UMP MODIFIEDS (24 Entrants)

Heat Race Winners: Greg Johnson, Dave Hess Jr., Steve Rex, Zach Johnson

Feature: 1) Michael McGee 2) Dave Hess Jr. 3) Troy Johnson 4) Zach Johnson 5) Greg Johnson 6) Butch Southwell 7) Steve Rex 8. CJ Ramsey 9) Joel Watson 10) Bud Watson 11) Jason Brightman 12) Andrew Beatman 13) Jimmy Diabo 14) Dave Lanphere 15Wyatt Scott 16) Kyle Schreckengost 17) Don May 18. Tom Kosinski 19) Matt Haskins 20) Chris Deponceau  21) Bryon Johnson 22) Joel Lanphere 23) Cale Crocker 24) Matt Kosinski

Lap Leaders: Z. Johnson (1-13) , McGee (14-20)

CHALLENGERS (34 Entrants)

Heat Race Winners: Casey Burch, Andy Schumaker, Brad Whiteside, Pete Volpe

Consi Winner: Brian Wilson

Feature: 1) Andy Schumaker 2) Holden Heineman 3) Cole Susice 4) Pete Volpe 5) Andy Proper 6) Derrick Randolph 7) John Mease 8. Brian Wilson 9) Tommy LaBarbera 10) Brad Whiteside 11) David Moller 12) Anna Diabo 13) Billi Jo Huffman 14) Domingo Echevarria 15) Casey Burch 16) Jess Eck 17) Danny Martell 18. Bryant Gauggel 19) Kayla York 20) Chelsea Haskins 21) Curtis Rung 22) John Volpe 23) Aiden O’Neal 24) James Wilburn

Lap Leaders: Whiteside (1-11) , Burch (12) , Whiteside (13-19) , Schumaker (20)


Heat Race Winners: Jason Genco, Dave Hess Jr. & Darrell Bossard

Feature: 1) Dave Hess Jr. 2) Darrell Bossard 3) Jason Genco 4) Ryan Scott 5) Greg Oakes 6) Nicholas Eck 7) Bob Dorman 8. Paul Schreckengost 9) Garrett Mott 10) Douglas Eck 11) Jason Dobson 12) Kevin Smith 13) Bump Headman 14) Michael Smith 15) Anthony Marotto 16) Chevy Scott 17) Kyle Bedell 18. Wes McCray

Lap Leaders: Hess Jr. (1-25)


Heat Race Winner: Jesse Isadore

Feature: 1) Chris Whyte 2) Jesse Isadore 3) Dale Haines 4) Rob Eaton 5) Trey Whyte 6) Draven Kuzminski 7) Valentin Learn 8. Bob Swanson 9) Kyle Coons

Lap Leaders: C. Whyte (1-15)


Heat Race Winners: Scott Gurdak, Randy Hall, Jason Genco

Feature: 1) Jason Genco 2) David Parker 3) Scott Gurdak 4) Ward Schell 5) William Taylor 6) Jake Wilber 7) Chad Clement 8. Khole Wanzer 9) Steve Houser 10) Stephen Blodgett 11) Gary Youngs 12) DJ Krug 13) Shawn Little 14) Ronald Watson 15) Kassy Norman 16) Randy Hall 17) Ray Houser 18. Tylar Fedorko

Lap Leaders: Parker (1-12) , Genco (13-20)