NEXT EVENT  Saturday, April 20
Test & Tune

All six classes in competition this Saturday at Stateline Speedway!

August 16, 2018  |  by Jay Pees

After a week off Stateline will resume the 2018 season this Saturday with regular racing across all divisions. As the season winds down with only two nights of points racing remaining, the championship battles take on added significance.

Wyatt Scott holds an impressive 86-point lead over his cousin, Ryan Scott, while neither have yet won a feature. What’s more is that Wyatt is in his Overhead Door of Jamestown Super Late Model rookie year! In 1995 Wyatt’s father, David, won the championship in his rookie year, can he follow in his Dad’s footprints? If the young star can leave this Saturday with a 111-point lead he will secure the honor for his place in Stateline history. John Lobb, the 2005 champion, is third, only five points behind Ryan, with Bump Hedman fourth and Matt Urban fifth. Urban was the 1998 and 1999 champion.

Darrell Bossard leads Max Blair in the RUSH Crate Late Model standings by 32 markers as the season winds down.veteran campaigner Scott Gurdak, the most recent Crate Late Model winner at Stateline, is third, another thirty points behind Blair. Former champion Jason Genco is fourth with the veteran Bob Craig fifth.

The Rusted Nutz Outlaw E-Mods have had their season dominated by Dennis Lunger Jr, who holds a 156 point edge over former champion Justin Carlson. Greg Johnson is third, only fourteen points behind Carlson with Randy Hall fourth, another 49 points back, and Tim Rockwell fifth, only four points out of fourth.

John Boardman has a wide 78-point lead over former champion Dave Shagla Jr in the Penn-Ohio Pro Stock season-long championship chase. Another 48 points back is Anthony Marotto, although only four points separate him from fourth-running Gary Fisher. Paul Nelson is fifth.

Lunger has dominated the RUSH Pro-Mod championship battle as well, holding a 132 marker lead over Chad Carlson with Adan Ashcroft third, 27-points behind Carlson, then former champion Justin Carlson 42 points behind Ashcroft but a mere mere three points ahead of former champion Scott Gurdak.

Dylan Greene holds a 64-point advantage over John Zeleznik in Challenger points with Chris Kingsley another 52-points back in third. Rory Houser and Charles Sullivan fill out the top five.

Stateline Speedway on Kortwright Road in Busti, NY, has been in continuous operation since 1956 and is currently owned by Jim and Jean Scott and Dave Turner. Racing is presented most Saturday nights during the racing season, this year from April 28 through September 1, plus special events and practices. The 2018 season will conclude on September 1 with Champions Night. The track is on the World Wide Web at www.newstatelinespeedway.com, on Facebook (The New Stateline Speedway Busti, NY, and Twitter @newstateline. Stateline’s Instagram is also @newstateline. The ‘all-purpose’ Information number for the track is (716) 720-2403. Information can also be had by writing to newstateline15@gmail.com.