NEXT EVENT  Saturday, April 20
Test & Tune

Season ends at Stateline Speedway this Saturday!

August 29, 2018  |  by Jay Pees

The 2018 Stateline Speedway season will end Saturday night when the final checkers will fall for this summer. All six classes will crown their champions.

Overhead Door of Jamestown Super Late Model rookie Wyatt Scott holds a 31-point lead over his cousin, Ryan Scott, a veteran campaigner, heading into the final night. Wyatt Scott could be the second Scott to win a championship in his first year in the class, repeating his father’s (David) accomplishment in 1995. John Lobb, the 2005 champion and winner July 28, is third, 115 points out of the lead. Another 15-points back is Jake Finnerty with Matt Urban another five points back, but only one point ahead of Darrell Bossard. Urban was another champion who won in his rookie year, that coming in 1998. Urban backed up his championship with another title year in 1999. The defending class champion is Max Blair, a four-time winner in 2018.

Bossard also competes in the RUSH Crate Late Model class and leads that division, although without having visited Victory Lane this summer. Blair runs second in the class, with four wins recorded thus far this season. Bossard holds a slim 9-point lead over Blair. Another 48-points back is Scott Gurdak, the winner August 4. Jason Genco, a former champion, is fourth with Matt Sipes fifth, holding a very thin two-point advantage over the veteran Bob Craig.

Lunger, with a huge 152 point margin over Greg Johnson, has wrapped up the Rusted Nutz Garage E-Mod championship for the season. With four wins, Lunger will claim the title over Johnson, the 2017 champion and single winner. Justin Carlson is third heading into the championship night, 26-points behind Johnson. Randy Hall and Tim Rockwell round out the top five.

The Penn-Ohio Pro Stocks championship chase shows defending champion John Boardman with a healthy 82-point lead over former champion Dave Shagla Jr. Gary Fisher is a distant third with Tony Marotto and Luke Rutsky filling out the top five.

Lunger also has the Pro Mod championship locked up for the second year in succession with a 117-point lead over Chad Carlson. Lunger has five feature wins compared with three, including the most recent week, for Carlson. Adam Ashcroft is third, another 58-points back with Scott Gurdak fourth, and Justin Carlson fifth. No one other than Lunger nor Chad Carlson has gone to Victory Lane this summer.

The Challenger standings show Dylan Greene with an 82-point lead over John Zeleznick. Greene, a third-generation driver, has three wins this season while Zeleznick has but one, that coming August 4. Chris Knisley, Charles Sullivan, and Kevin Covell fill out the top five.

Regular admission pricing is in effect for this week. Gates open at 5:00 PM. Grandstands: Adults $15, Seniors and Veterans $10, Students (11-15) $8, 10 and under FREE! Pit Gates open at 4:00 PM with pit entry $30 for all ages. FREE parking and FREE dry camping.

Stateline Speedway, located at 4150 Kortwright Road in Busti, NY, has been in continuous operation since 1956 and is currently owned by Jim Scott, Jean Scott and Dave Turner. Racing is presented every Saturday night during the racing season, this year from April 28 through August 31 plus special events and practices. The 2018 season will conclude on September 1 with “Champions Night”. The track is on the World Wide Web at www.newstatelinespeedway.com, on Facebook (The New Stateline Speedway Busti, NY), and Twitter @newstateline. Stateline’s Instagram is also @newstateline. The ‘all-purpose’ Information number for the track is (716) 720-2403. Information can also be had by writing to newstateline15@gmail.com.