NEXT EVENT  Saturday, June 3
Challenger Special

Paula Southwell Memorial Rescheduled for 6/15!

May 31, 2019

Busti, NY (May 29, 2019) — Butch Southwell has been a Stateline fan-favorite competitor and champion, and is a top-rated driver in the E-Mod division at Stateline and other area speedways since the 1980s. Along with his wife, Cathy, and daughter Sarah, Butch has been a Stateline “fixture”, born to Bill and Judy Southwell and largely raised at the track.  On May 4, 2013, Butch and Cathy’s lives changed forever when their daughter Paula, tragically passed away after a highway motorcycle accident. Since May 18, 2013 Paula has been remembered with a memorial event in her honor for the E-Mods. The first event was won by Dave Hess Jr. Rich Michael Jr has three wins in the event, David Scott has one win, and Joel Watson was the winner in 2018. Thus far this season, Dennis Lunger has two victories and Cale Crocker was the winner last week. This very special event will pay $2000 to the winner. Defending points champion Dennis Lunger is the current points leader by 36 points over Randy Hall, 62 points over Mike Kinney, 80 points over Dan Sasso, and 95 points over Steve Rex.

The Dave Warren Auto Group Super Late Models have had three different winners in as many weeks, with Chub Frank, Max Blair, and Dave Hess Jr all scoring wins. Blair is the points leader by 24 over Darrell Bossard, 47 over Michael Wonderling, 63 over Jake Finnerty, and 65 over Bump Hedman. Chub Frank, Blair and Hess each have a win this season.
Jason Covey, the opening night winner, leads the Penn-Ohio Pro Stocks by 32 points over past champion Dave Shagla. Shane Applebee is another three points back and then it’s 22 points back to John Boardman, the winner of the last two weeks. Steve Yokum is fifth, another four points behind Boardman.
With wins in each of the points-paying events this season, defending champion Dennis Lunger leads the Chris Whyte’s Spray Foam Options RUSH ProMods. Adam Ashcroft is second, 44 points in arrears of the leader with last week’s winner Chad Carlson third, another sixteen points back, then C J Irons, just one more point behind, and former champion Scott Gurdak, another solitary point back.
Neither Holden Heineman, nor Rick Feely,have yet been to the Challenger Victory Lane, but they are tied for the points lead with a 35 point margin over John Mease, also not yet a winner in 2019. Greg Marsh, the opening night winner, is currently fourth, thirteen points behind second. In fifth is Tyler Walters, another five points back. Week two winner, Nicole Condron, is currently eighth and last week’s winner, Patrick Todd Hanlon, does not have any points yet as his win came in a non-points week. Dylan Greene, the 2018 champion, has moved up to the Penn-Ohio Pro Stocks for 2019. 

Admission to this very special event will be $15 for adults over 18, $10 for Seniors (over 62) and Veterans, $8 for Students (11-17), with kids ten and under always free! Pit entry is $30 for all ages (Anyone under the age of 18 must have a completed “Minor Release Form” signed by parents and notarized for entry into the pit area).

 Stateline Speedway on Kortwright Road in Busti, NY, has been in continuous operation since 1956 and is currently owned by Jim and Jean Scott and Dave Turner. Racing is presented every Saturday night during the racing season, this year from April 20 through August 31  plus special events and practices. The 2019 regular season will conclude on August 31 with Champions Night. The track is on the World Wide Web at www.newstatelinespeedway.com, on Facebook (The New Stateline Speedway Busti, NY, and Twitter @newstateline. Stateline’s Instagram is also @newstateline. The ‘all-purpose’ Information number for the track is (716) 720-2403. Information can also be had by writing to newstateline15@gmail.com.