Triple Header at Stateline Saturday, June 22nd!

June 19, 2019

Busti, NY (June 19, 2019): A huge night of racing and fun is planned for Stateline Speedway Saturday as it will be a “Triple Header” of excitement with the Paula Southwell Memorials for the Outlaw E-Mods, the BRP Big Block Modified Tour, and lots of fan give-a-ways, all in one extravagant evening, sponsored by Coca Cola. The Outlaw E-Mods and the BRP Big Block Modified Tour will be joined by the Dave Warren Auto Group Super Late Models, the Penn-Ohio ProStocks, the Chris Whyte’s Spray Foam RUSH ProMods, and the Challengers. The RUSH Late Models will not be in competition. 


Paul Southwell was the daughter of Butch and Cathy Southwell. Butch has driven E-Mods at Stateline for the past several years and also drove Late Models and Limited Late Models in the past. Paula tragically passed away in a highway accident on May 4, 2013. The first race in her memory was run May 18, 2013. The Paula Southwell Memorial will run for 30 laps and pay $2000 to the winner.  Joel Watson was the 2018 winner of this event. Dave Hess Jr won the first running, Dave Scott collected one win, and Rich Michael Jr was three times the event champion. 


Dennis Lunger is currently the Outlaw E-Mod points leader on the strength of two wins. On Memorial Day, Cale Crocker picked up his first win of the season and is tenth in points. Randy Hall is currently second, 36-points out of the lead. Mike Kinney is third, with Dan Sasso and Steve Rex rounding out the top five. 


In the Chris Whyte’s Spray Foam Options RUSH ProMod division, Lunger holds a 44-point lead over Adam Ashcroft. Lunger has won both points-paying events in that division as well. Chad Carlson picked up the win Memorial Day. The ProMods will also be racing for a $600 winner’s purse. 

In Super Late Model action, defending champion Max Blair, Chub Frank, Dave Hess, and Ryan Scott have all picked up wins with no one yet repeating. For Scott, the defending class champion, it was his first-ever Dave Warren Auto Group Super Late Model win. Blair leads the points with a fourteen point cushion over Darrell Bossard, with Scott third, Jake Finnerty fourth, and Bump Hedman fifth. 


Defending champion, Jason Covey, leads the Penn-Ohio ProStocks over former champion, Dave Shagla, by 32-points. Shane Applebee is a mere three points behind Shagla, with two-time winner, John Boardman, fourth, another 22-points back. Steve Yokum is fifth, only four points behind Boardman. Covey was the opening night winner with Boardman picking up the other two wins. 


The closest points battle is a tie at the top of the Challengers standings between Holden Heineman and Rick Feely. While neither has a win, top five finishes each week have propelled them to the top of the list. John Mease is third, 35-points behind the leaders, with Greg Marsh, week one winner, and Tyler Walters filling out the top five. Week two winner, Nichole Condron, eighth in the standings, and week three winner Todd Hanlon round out the top five. Week three was a non-points event so Hanlon, only racing in week three, does not appear in the standings. 


In addition to all this it’s Coca-Cola night and there will be drawings all night for Coke and other pop, hats, t-shirts, key bobs, a gas card, a pair of regular passes to Stateline, and the Dave Warren Pace Truck Ride Along to lead the pace lap for the Super Late Feature. 


Ticket pricing for this special event is $17 for adults (18+), $12 for seniors (over 62) and veterans, students (11-17) $10, under 10 always free. A family pack for two adults plus up to four kids is $50. Pit entry is $30 for all ages. (Anyone under age 18 must have a completed “Minor Release Form” signed by parents and notarized for entry into the pit area.)


Stateline Speedway on Kortwright Road in Busti, NY, has been in continuous operation since 1956 and is currently owned by Jim and Jean Scott and Dave Turner. Racing is presented every Saturday night during the racing season, this year through August 31,  plus special events and practices. The 2019 regular season will conclude on August 31 with Champions Night. The track is on the World Wide Web at www.newstatelinespeedway.com, on Facebook (The New Stateline Speedway Busti, NY, and Twitter @newstateline. Stateline’s Instagram is also @newstateline. The ‘all-purpose’ Information number for the track is (716) 720-2403. Information can also be had by writing to newstateline15@gmail.com.