NEXT EVENT  Saturday, June 10
Six Pack Racing + SHARP Mini Lates

Stateline Speedway Championships to be decided Saturday!

August 30, 2019

Busti, NY (August 30, 2019): The 2019 Stateline Speedway championships will be decided this Saturday with special activities planned for fans of all ages plus an appearance by the Thunder on Dirt Vintage Modified Racing Series. The New Stateline Speedway “Kids’ Club” for Kids under ten will feature pit tours and a candy drop with sign in for the kids starting at 5:15 PM. Adult admission will be a bargain price of only $10!


Max Blair will be crowned the 2019 Dave Warren Auto Group Super Late Models Champion. Heading into the final points night, Blair has a 147-point lead over Darrell Bossard. Blair has five feature wins this season while Bossard has yet to win. With the maximum points available in any night of competition only 120, Blair’s lead is insurmountable. Defending champion Ryan Scott is currently third, with one feature win, 54 points behind Bossard. Former three-time champion Dutch Davies is fourth, another 79-points behind with Jake Finnerty yet another 37 back in fifth. Neither Davies nor Finnerty has gone to Victory Lane this summer. Other race winners include Chub Frank, Greg Oakes, David Scott, and Dave Hess Jr (with two wins).


Blair holds a 90-point lead in the Close Racing Supply RUSH Late Model points chase over Scott Gurdak, the winner August 3. Blair has three wins this season. Gurdak is 33-points ahead of Darrell Bossard, is 106-points ahead of Ward Schell. Former champion Jason Genco is fifth, only one point behind Schell. Damian Bidwell, Jeremy Wonderling, Chub Frank, Genco, and Gurdak each have one win. 


Four-time feature winner Dennis Lunger holds a commanding, but not invincible, 95-point leads in the Outlaw E-Mod chase over three-time winner Cale Crocker, who has a 95-point lead over two time winner Steve Rex. Butch Southwell, not yet a winner this summer, is fourth, 59 behind Rex. Randy Hall is fifth, 46 behind Southwell. Hall has not won yet this summer. Greg Johnson was the June 29 winner and is currently seventh in points. 


Three-time winner John Boardman has a nearly insurmountable lead of 100 points over former champion Dave Shagla, the two-time 2019 winner. Jason Black, who scored his first-ever win on July 20, then backed it up with another on August 17, the most recent night of racing, is third, only ten points behind Shagla. Opening night winner Jason Covey is fourth, another 157 points back with Steve Yokum another sixteen points back in fifth. Shane Applebee and Hunter Exley also have feature wins, Exley’s in the Penn-Ohio tour event July 13. 


Lunger has a large enough lead in the Chris Whyte’s  Spray Foams Options RUSH ProMods that he is virtually assured of his second consecutive championship in that division. Lunger has visited Victory Lane on six occasions this summer. June 29 winner Adam Ashcroft is second, 112 points out of the lead. With 120 points the most available, Lunger only needs to start the feature to secure the championship. Two-time winner Chad Carlson sits third in the standings, thirty points behind Ashcroft. Scott Gurdak, the winner July 20, is fourth with Jarrod Silvis fifth. Silvis has not yet won a feature race. 


Rick Feely, who won his first ever feature August 17, leads the Challengers division by 178-points over Holden Heineman, not yet a winner this summer. Feely’s lead is sufficient to secure his first championship. Defending champion Chris Horton is third, a single point behind Heineman, insuring a fight to the finish this Saturday for the runner-up honors. Horton scored his only win of the season on August 3.  John Mease is fourth, without a win, 74-points back, with Charles Sullivan, also winless fifth, a mere four points behind Mease. The race for fourth in the final standings is a three-way battle with Tyler Walters only ten points behind Sullivan. Walters is also winless this season. Casey Burch and John Zeleznick each have two wins on the season while Greg Marsh, Nichole Condron, Todd Hanlon, and Willie Van Guilder each have one victory. 


The pit gates will open at 4:00 PM with the grandstand gates opening at 5:00 PM. Racing will begins at 7:00 PM. Admission is $10 for all adults, $8 for students 11-17. A family pack for two adults and up to four children is $35. Children under 10 are always free! Pit entry is $30 for all ages. Anyone under the age of 18 must have a completed “Minor Release Form” signed by parents and notarized for entry into the pit area. 


Stateline Speedway on Kortwright Road in Busti, NY, has been in continuous operation since 1956 and is currently owned by Jim and Jean Scott and Dave Turner. Racing is presented every Saturday night during the racing season, this year through August 31 (except August 10 and August 24), plus special events and practices. The 2019 regular season will conclude on August 31 with Champions Night. The track is on the World Wide Web at www.newstatelinespeedway.com, on Facebook (The New Stateline Speedway Busti, NY, and Twitter @newstateline. Stateline’s Instagram is also @newstateline. The ‘all-purpose’ Information number for the track is (716) 720-2403. Information can also be had by writing to newstateline15@gmail.com.