NEXT EVENT  Saturday, June 10
Six Pack Racing + SHARP Mini Lates

Hunter Schuerenberg defeats foes and mother nature for first-ever All Star win! Wyatt Scott picks up second Stateline feature win of season!

July 9, 2021

Busti, NY (July 9, 2021): For the first time of his career, “Hunter Percent” Hunter Schuerenberg is a FloRacing All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 main event winner, earning his triumph during the Empire State Shootout 30 at Stateline Speedway in Busti, New York. Pocketing a $6,000 payday for his efforts, the Sikeston, Missouri-native was forced to outduel not only fellow Series full-timer Zeb Wise for his first check in the All Star win column, but also Mother Nature, as the event was plagued by a constant mix of light rain and steady mist that caused several delays including a 90-minute pause just before the evening’s main event.

Nonetheless, Schuerenberg came out on top, taking command for the first time on lap 14 after starting third on the grid. Wise, who led the first 13 circuits before a bobble in traffic opened the door for Schuerenberg, held on to finish second, followed by Justin Peck, Paul McMahan, and Cory Eliason.

“Our balance was so good at the beginning of the year, but something knocked us off. The crew and I put our heads together and determined that there can’t be anything too crazy wrong with this car because we haven’t done anything different. We found a little shock issue, but once we figured that out, things have been back to normal,” Schuerenberg expressed in Stateline Speedway victory lane. “I was getting really tired of my son asking me where the confetti was, so, I’m really happy the track stuck this out and allowed us to race. This track really fits my driving style. It was a lot of fun to run that race.”

As aforementioned, Schuerenberg, aboard the Vermeer Motorsports, Maxim Trucking and Materials, TK Concrete, No. 55 sprint car, took command of the 30-lap contest on lap 14, using the bottom of turn one to sneak by Angola, Indiana’s Zeb Wise. Wise, who started from the outside-pole position, found himself trapped behind a lapped car at the end of the straightaway, ultimately forced to go high to avoid potential contact.

“This is a whole new car, different motor; a whole new package,” Wise said. “To come out here and put it on the podium the first night, and with our friends from Sundollar here, as well, that’s pretty special.”

The Super Late Models were brought to Spanky Hall’s green flags by Steve Kania and Wyatt Scott, with Scott obtaining the lead out of turn two on lap one. Scott was followed by Kania, Jacob Finnerty, Greg Oakes and Jason Genco at the completion of the first circuit. Wyatt pulled away to a sizable lead early as Steve Kania and Jacob Finnerty battled side by side for the second position, with Finnerty completing the pass at the completion of lap three. The only caution of the race came out with six laps complete as the 01W machine of Khole Wanzer came to a halt on the backstretch. Following the restart, Greg Oakes moved up to third and twelfth starting Dave Hess moved into the fourth spot as they passed Genco on the inside of turns one and two on lap eight. Wyatt completed lap ten with a four car length advantage over the second place runner of Finnerty, followed by Oakes, Hess and Genco. At the halfway point, Finnerty closed the gap and began to pressure the race-long leader of Wyatt Scott for the top spot. On lap fourteen, Wyatt would once again see his lead extend as Finnerty lost the ground he had made up when he skated up the track in turn four, the top five remained the same. Finnerty once again mounted a charge with five laps to go as he reached the bumper of Scott down the front stretch and pulled to his inside through turns one and two. Finnerty and Scott raced side by side down the backstretch with Wyatt being able to maintain the lead on the high side out of turn four. At the checkered, it was Wyatt Scott leading flag to flag to pick up his second Stateline feature win of the season, followed by Jacob Finnerty, Greg Oakes, Dave Hess and Jason Genco.

All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Cars

Qualifying: 1. 10-Zeb Wise, 14.623; 2. 13-Justin Peck, 15.008; 3. 11-Spencer Bayston, 15.029; 4. 7BC-Tyler Courtney, 15.121; 5. 26-Cory Eliason, 15.123; 6. 4-Cap Henry, 15.193; 7. 91-Kyle Reinhardt, 15.243; 8. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg, 15.245; 9. O7-Skylar Gee, 15.254; 10. 5-Paul McMahan, 15.290; 11. 22C-Cole Duncan, 15.327; 12. 35-Jared Zimbardi, 15.404; 13. 97-Greg Wilson, 15.451; 14. 17B-Bill Balog, 15.558; 15. 23-Darren Pifer, 15.592; 16. 21N-Frankie Nervo, 15.681; 17. 22-Brandon Spithaler, 15.747; 18. 6-Bob Felmlee, 15.794; 19. 29-Logan McCandless, 16.297; 20. 47-Brett Brunkenhoefer, 16.577; 21. 19-Joe Kubiniec, 16.773

Heat 1: 1. 5-Paul McMahan, 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney, 3. 91-Kyle Reinhardt, 4. 97-Greg Wilson, 5. 10-Zeb Wise, 6. 21N-Frankie Nervo, 7. 29-Logan McCandless
Heat 2: 1. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg, 2. 22C-Cole Duncan, 3. 13-Justin Peck, 4. 26-Cory Eliason, 5. 22-Brandon Spithaler, 6. 17B-Bill Balog, 7. 47-Brett Brunkenhoefer
Heat 3: 1. 35-Jared Zimbardi, 2. 4-Cap Henry, 3. 11-Spencer Bayston, 4. O7-Skylar Gee, 5. 6-Bob Felmlee, 6. 23-Darren Pifer, 7. 19-Joe Kubiniec

Dash: 1. 13-Justin Peck, 2. 10-Zeb Wise, 3. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg, 4. 35-Jared Zimbardi, 5. 5-Paul McMahan, 6. 26-Cory Eliason, 7. 7BC-Tyler Courtney, 8. 11-Spencer Bayston

Feature: 1. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg, 2. 10-Zeb Wise, 3. 13-Justin Peck, 4. 5-Paul McMahan, 5. 26-Cory Eliason, 6. 7BC-Tyler Courtney, 7. 4-Cap Henry, 8. 11-Spencer Bayston, 9. 97-Greg Wilson, 10. O7-Skylar Gee, 11. 17B-Bill Balog, 12. 22C-Cole Duncan, 13. 35-Jared Zimbardi, 14. 91-Kyle Reinhardt, 15. 6-Bob Felmlee, 16. 22-Brandon Spithaler, 17. 29-Logan McCandless, 18. 21N-Frankie Nervo, 19. 19-Joe Kubiniec, 20. 23-Darren Pifer, 21. 47-Brett Brunkenhoefer

Super Late Models

Heat 1: 1. Dave Hess, 2. Steve Kania, 3. Greg Oakes, 4. Ryan Scott, 5. Jason Genco, 6. Khole Wanzer, 7. Paul Schreckengost, 8. Anthony Marotto
Heat 2: 1. Wyatt Scott, 2. Jacob Finnerty, 3. Dutch Davies, 4. Kyle Bedell, 5. Easton Hedman, 6. Mike Smith, 7. Darrell Bossard

Feature: 1. Wyatt Scott, 2. Jacob Finnerty, 3. Greg Oakes, 4. Dave Hess, 5. Jason Genco, 6. Steve Kania, 7. Dutch Davies, 8. Ryan Scott, 9. Easton Hedman, 10. Kyle Bedell, 11. Mike Smith, 12. Paul Schreckengost, 13. Anthony Marotto, 14. Khole Wanzer, 15. Darrell Bossard - DNS